Mission statement

The Office of the General Counsel provides the University with leadership on legal matters and works collaboratively with University clients and campus colleagues to achieve the University’s mission by providing trusted legal advice and guidance, and vigorous advocacy.


We are legal leaders, dedicated to offering counsel that is innovative and creative, yet practical and achievable in accord with the best practices of the finest public research universities.


We are firmly committed to providing excellent legal services to support the University in its mission, and dedicated to enriching the University’s culture and environment of integrity, service, diversity, and inclusion.