Academic Advisory Council (AAC)

The Academic Advisory Council (AAC) is made up of the chief academic officers of each campus. AAC meets monthly for the purpose of reviewing academic matters common and unique to all campuses.

Chief Academic Officers

Katherine Newman, Ph.D.
System Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of Massachusetts President's Office 
knewman@umassp.edu

Contact:  Candyce Carragher, 617-287-5329 | ccarragher@umassp.edu

Robert Gamache, Ph.D.
Senior Advisor for Academic Affairs
University of Massachusetts President's Office 
rgamache@umassp.edu

John McCarthy, Ph.D.
Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of Massachusetts Amherst
jmccarthy@provost.umass.edu​

Contact: Diane Vayda, 413-545-6225 | dsvayda@provost.umass.edu

Emily McDermott, Ph.D.
Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of Massachusetts Boston
emily.mcdermott@umb.edu

Contact: Jannette White, 617-287-5602 | jannette.white@umb.edu

Mohammad A. Karim, Ph.D.
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
mkarim@umassd.edu

Contact: Kristen Kupiec, 508-999-8024 | kkupiec@umassd.edu

Joseph Hartman, Ph.D.
Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of Massachusetts Lowell
Joseph_Hartman@uml.edu

Contact: Meylia Kurnianto, 978-934-3000 | meylia_kurnianto@uml.edu

Terry Flotte, M.D.
Dean of the School of Medicine
Provost and Executive Deputy Chancellor
University of Massachusetts Medical School
terry.flotte@umassmed.edu

Contact: Kimberly La Perle, 508-856-2107 | kimberly.LaPerle@umassmed.edu