UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS AMHERST•BOSTON•DARTMOUTH•LOWELL•MEDICAL•LAW•ONLINE

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE CHANCELLOR'S SEARCH COMMITTEE FOR UMASS DARTMOUTH

Thursday, July 15, 2021 8:30 a.m. – Via Zoom

Pursuant to the Governor's Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law, G.L. c.30A, 820 dated March 12, 2020

<u>Committee Members Present</u>: Chair Karam, Vice Chair Christ, Mr. Carreras, Ms. Chen, Ms. Entin, Ms. Gauvin, Mr. Gula, Ms. Klobucka, Ms. Kunda, Chancellor Moloney, Mr. Msangi, Mr. O'Rielly, Ms. Ramos Gagliardi, Mr. Roscoe, Mr. Tolman, Ms. VanderGheynst, Ms. Williams

Committee Members Absent: Mr. Bushell, Mr. Kunda

Search Firm Representative: Dr. Caret, Ms. Greenwood, Ms. McCaghren

Chair Karam convened the meeting at 8:33 a.m.

Chair Karam welcomed everyone to the meeting of the UMass Dartmouth Chancellor Search Committee Meeting. Chair Karam stated that due to the Emergency Order issued by the Governor, all members of the Committee may participate by remote virtual means. Chair Karam noted that he received no requests from the public to speak, make an audio or videotape of the meeting.

Executive Session Announcement

Chair Karam then asked for a roll call vote to enter into Executive Session to perform a preliminary screening in considering applicants for the position of Chancellor as permitted under MGL Ch. 30A, s.21 (a) (7), to comply with the Public Records law, MGL Ch. 4, s.7, clause 26 (u) to protect proprietary information provided to the University to assist in the preliminary screening of applicants since the chair has determined that a discussion in open session would have a detrimental effect on the committee's ability to attract qualified candidates.

And under Purpose 7, publicly disclosing and citing to the specific law that necessitates confidentiality would compromise the purpose for which the executive session is being called.

The motion was offered by Mr. Tolman and seconded by Ms. Moloney. Ms. Greene called the roll call with each committee member asked to vote yes or no to enter into Executive Session.

Chair Karam voted for the motion as did Vice Chair Christ, Mr. Carreras, Ms. Chen, Ms. Entin, Ms. Gauvin, Mr. Gula, Ms. Klobucka, Mr. Kunda, Ms. Moloney, Mr. Msangi, Mr. O'Rielly, Ms. Ramos Gagliardi, Mr. Roscoe, Mr. Tolman, Ms. VanderGheynst, Ms. Williams.

The time was 8:37 a.m.