UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS

VOTES

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

APRIL 12, 2017

UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS BOARD OF TRUSTEES

DATE: Board of Trustees – April 12, 2017

<u>VOTED</u>: To approve the following votes listed as 1-14 on the Consent Agenda:

CONSENT AGENDA VOTES

The Committee on Academic and Student Affairs approved items 1-8 on April 5, 2017.

- 1. <u>Ph.D. Integrative Biology, UMass Dartmouth</u> (Doc. T17-002) To approve the Ph.D. degree in Integrative Biology at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth as contained in Doc. T17-002.
- <u>B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering, UMass Amherst</u> (Doc. T17-003) To approve the B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering at the University of Massachusetts Amherst as contained in Doc. T17-003.
- **3.** <u>**B.S. in Environmental Engineering, UMass Lowell</u> (Doc. T17-004) To approve the B.S. in Environmental Engineering at the University of Massachusetts Lowell as contained in Doc. T17-004.</u>**
- 4. <u>Appointments to Named Professorships, Amherst, Boston, Medical School</u> (Doc. T17-005) To concur with the President in the appointment of Neal Anderson to the Terrence Murray Commonwealth Honors College Professorship at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.
 - And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Michael Rex as Distinguished Professor of Biology at the University of Massachusetts Boston.
 - And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Fen-Biao Gao to the Governor Paul Cellucci Chair in Neuroscience Research at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.
 - And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Neil Aronin to the Higgins Family Professorship in Neuroscience at University of Massachusetts Medical School.
 - And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Brian Silver to the Endowed Chair in Neuroscience Research at University of Massachusetts Medical School.
 - And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Justin Maykel to the Gladys Smith Martin Chair in Oncology University of Massachusetts Medical School.

- And further To concur with the President in the appointment of Mark D. Johnson, MD, PhD to the Maroun Semaan Chair in Neurosurgery at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.
- And further To concur with the President in the appointment of Albertha Johanna Marian Walhout, PhD to the Maroun Semaan Chair in Biomedical Research at the University of Massachusetts Medical School.

5. <u>Rename the Graduate School of Education, to its original name, the College of</u> <u>Education, UMass Lowell</u> (Doc. T17-023)

To approve the renaming of the Graduate School of Education, to its original name, as the College of Education at the University of Massachusetts Lowell as contained in Doc. T17-023.

6. <u>Appointments with Tenure, UMass Boston, Dartmouth</u> (Doc. T17-006)

To concur with the President in the appointment of Susan Gauss as associate professor with tenure in the Department of Latin American and Iberian Studies at the University of Massachusetts Boston.

- And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Stacy Van Deveer as professor with tenure in the Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance at the University of Massachusetts Boston.
- And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of David Cash as associate professor with tenure in the Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs at the University of Massachusetts Boston.
- And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of June Horowitz as professor with tenure in the College of Nursing at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.
- And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Walter Stroup as associate professor with tenure in the Department of STEM Education and Teacher Development at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth.

7. <u>Awards of Tenure, UMass Dartmouth</u> (Doc. T17-007) To concur with the President in the awards of tenure to the following individuals in the following Departments:

DARTMOUTH	Rachel Kulick, Department of Sociology and Anthropology David Manke, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry		
	Mark Paige, Department of Public Policy		
	Ricardo Rosa, Department of Educational Leadership Ronald Sherwin, Department of Music		
	Shaun Spencer, School of Law		
Jing Wang, Department of Music			
	Mary Wilson, Department of English		

8. <u>Transfers of Tenure, UMass Boston</u> (Doc. T17-008)

To concur with the President in the following transfers of tenure at the University of Massachusetts Boston:

Alan Christian	FROM College of Science and Mathematics/Biology TO the School for the Environment	
Terry Kawashima	FROM College of Liberal Arts/Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures TO Asian Studies	
Joan Arches	FROM College of Public and Community Service TO College of Education and Human Development	
Carolyne Arnold	FROM College of Public and Community Service TO McCormack Graduate School	
Carroy Ferguson	FROM College of Public and Community Service TO College of Liberal Arts	
Richard Hung	FROM College of Public and Community Service TO the School for the Environment	
Sylvia Mignon	FROM College of Public and Community Service TO College of Liberal Arts	
Asgedet Stefanos	FROM College of Public and Community Service TO College of Education and Human Development	
Alan Wiig	FROM College of Public and Community Service TO the School for the Environment	
Raul Ybarra	FROM College of Public and Community Service TO the College of Liberal Arts	

The Committee on Administration and Finance approved items 9-14 on April 11, 2017.

9. <u>Approval of Capital Projects</u> (Doc. T16-067, as amended)

Pursuant to Trustee Policy T93-122, as amended, to approve the following project under the first vote or "**Preliminary Campus Estimate**":

<u>Campus</u>	<u>Project Name</u>	<u>Preliminary Campus</u> <u>Estimate – April 2017</u>
Amherst	Worcester Dining Commons Renovation	\$45 million

10. <u>Naming of the Roy J. Zuckerberg College of Health Sciences, UMass Lowell</u> (Doc. T17-024)

To name the University of Massachusetts Lowell College of Health Sciences as the Roy J. Zuckerberg College of Health Sciences, and to accept with sincere gratitude the generous gift of Roy J. Zuckerberg.

- 11. <u>Naming of the Susan and Alan Solomont School of Nursing, UMass Lowell</u> (Doc. T17-025) To name the School of Nursing at the University of Massachusetts Lowell, the Susan and Alan Solomont School of Nursing and to accept with sincere gratitude the generous gift of Susan and Alan Solomont.
- 12. Establishment of the Donna Manning Endowed Chair for Nursing, UMass Lowell (Doc. T17-026)

In accordance with sections 1A(e) and 11 of Chapter 75 of the General Laws: to establish the Donna Manning Endowed Chair for Nursing at the University of Massachusetts Lowell.

13. <u>Establishment of Endowed Chairs and Professorships, UMass Amherst</u> (Doc. T17-010) In accordance with sections 1A(e) and 11 of Chapter 75 of the General Laws: to establish the Pen Tishkach Chair in Holocaust Studies, the Armstrong/Siadat endowed professorship in Materials Science, the Karen and Chuck Peters Family endowed professorship, the Carney Family endowed professorship, and the John F. Kennedy endowed professorship.</u>

14. Establishment of Endowed Chairs, UMass Medical School (Doc. T17-011)

In accordance with sections 1A(e) and 11 of Chapter 75 of the General Laws: to establish the Maroun Semaan Chair in Neurosurgery and to establish the Maroun Semaan Chair in Biomedical Research.