UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS

VOTES

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

DECEMBER 9, 2016

COMMITTEE: Audit Committee – November 30, 2016

ACTION ITEM #c,1: Internal Audit Charter

DATE: Board of Trustees – December 9, 2016

DOC. & VOTE I.D. #: T06-061, as amended

<u>VOTED</u>: To approve the following:

• The revisions to the Internal Audit Charter

COMMITTEE: Audit Committee – November 30, 2016

ACTION ITEM #c,2: University's Annual Financial Statements

DATE: Board of Trustees – December 9, 2016

DOC. & VOTE I.D. #: T16-083

<u>VOTED</u>: To approve the following:

• The University's Annual Financial Statements

COMMITTEE: Audit Committee – November 30, 2016

ACTION ITEM #c,3: Audit Report

DATE: Board of Trustees – December 9, 2016

DOC. & VOTE I.D. #: T16-089

<u>VOTED</u>: To approve the following:

• The Report on Major Federal Program Compliance with OMB Circular A-133

DATE: Board of Trustees – December 9, 2016

<u>VOTED</u>: To approve the following votes listed as 1-7 on the Consent Agenda:

CONSENT AGENDA VOTES

The Committee on Academic and Student Affairs approved items 1-4 on November 16, 2016.

1. M.S. in Business Analytics, UMass Boston (Doc. T16-048)

To approve the M.S. in Business Analytics, University of Massachusetts Boston as contained in Doc. T16-048.

2. <u>Student Government Constitution, UMass Lowell</u> (Doc. T04-007, as amended)

To approve revisions to the Lowell Student Government Constitution as contained in Doc. T04-007, as amended.

3. Appointments with Tenure, UMass Amherst, Lowell (Doc. T16-077)

To concur with the President in the appointment of Naoki Yoshihara as associate professor with tenure in the Department of Economics at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Roberta Marvin as professor with tenure in the Department of Music and Dance at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Lawrence King as professor with tenure in the Department of Economics at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.

And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Jarrod Hayes as associate professor with tenure in the Department of Political Science at the University of Massachusetts Lowell.

And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Daniel Obrist as professor with tenure in the Department of Environmental, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Massachusetts Lowell.

And further, To concur with the President in the appointment of Sheldon Zhang as professor with tenure in the School of Criminology and Justice Studies at the University of Massachusetts Lowell.

4. Awards of Tenure, UMass Amherst, Medical School (Doc. T16-078)

To concur with the President in the awards of tenure to the following individuals in the following Departments:

AMHERST Joseph Bardin, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Amanda Marcotte, Student Development

Kysa Nygreen, Teacher Education and Curriculum Studies

Li-jun Ma, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Eric Poehler, Classics

MEDICAL SCHOOL Daryl Bosco, Neurology

Michael Francis, Neurobiology John Landers, Neurology

The Committee on Administration and Finance approved items 5-7 on November 30, 2016.

5. Establishment of Endowed Chairs, UMass Amherst (Doc. T16-090)

In accordance with sections 1A(e) and 11 of Chapter 75 of the General Laws, to establish an endowed professorship at the University of Massachusetts Amherst to be known as the **Charles P. McQuaid Endowed Professorship in the Isenberg School of Management**.

And further, to establish an endowed chair at the University of Massachusetts Amherst to be known as the Robert K. Barrett Chair in Polymer Science and Engineering at the College of Natural Sciences.

6. Sustainability Policy (Doc. T16-055)

To approve the Sustainability Policy which establishes the University's commitment to sustainability efforts and to authorize the President or his/her designee to issue Standards to be followed by each campus.

7. <u>Approval of Changes to the Capital Projects List (related to the FY2017 – FY2021 Capital Plan)</u> (Doc. T16-067, as amended) Pursuant to Trustee Policy T93-122, as amended, to approve the following projects under the second vote or "Full Project Approval" and to satisfy the University's written request that the UMass Building Authority undertake projects in accordance with Board of Trustees vote T16-058:

				Funding Source				
Campus	Project Name	Preliminary Campus Estimate	Full Project Approval (Second Vote)	Local Funding	External Funding	Borrowed Funding	State Funding	Р3
Lowell	Science & Engineering Master Plan-Perry Hall, Engineering, Renewal	\$50,000,000	\$50,000,000	18,000,000.00	\$12,000,000	\$20,000,000	-	-
Total		\$50,000,000	\$50,000,000	\$18,000,000	\$12,000,000	\$20,000,000	\$0	\$0

OTHER BUSINESS #1: Department of Defense, Exclusion from Personnel Clearance

Requirements

DATE: Board of Trustees – December 9, 2016

DOC. & VOTE I.D. #: T16-093

VOTED:

WHEREAS, current Department of Defense Regulations contain a provision making it mandatory that the Chairman of the Board, the President, and the designated Facility Security Officer meet the personnel clearance requirements established for a contractor's facility clearance; and

WHEREAS, said Department of Defense Regulations permit the exclusion from the personnel clearance requirements of certain members of the Board of Trustees and other officers, provided that this action is recorded in the minutes.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT DECLARED that the Chairman of the Board, the President, and the designated Facility Security Officer at the present time do possess, or will be processed for, the required security clearance; and

BE IT RESOLVED that in the future, when any individual enters upon any duties as Chairman of the Board, the President, or the designated Facility Security Officer, such individual shall immediately make application for the required security clearance; and

BE IT RESOLVED FURTHER that the following members of the Board of Trustees and other officers shall not have, and can be effectively excluded from access to all classified information in the possession of the corporation and do not occupy positions that would enable them to affect adversely policies or practices in the performance of classified contracts for the Department of Defense or the User Agencies of its Industrial Security Program:

NAME	TITLE
James R. Buonomo	Trustee
Mary L. Burns	Trustee
Edward W. Collins, Jr.	Trustee
Kevin F. Delaney	Trustee
Robert Epstein	Trustee

Pantea Fatemi Ardestani	Trustee		
Philip A. Feinberg	Trustee		
David G. Fubini	Trustee		
Maria D. Furman	Trustee		
Philip W. Johnston	Trustee		
Michael V. O'Brien	Trustee		
Joshua S. Odam	Trustee		
Kerri Osterhaus-Houle	Trustee		
Imari K. Paris Jeffries	Trustee		
R. Norman Peters	Trustee		
James A. Peyser	Trustee		
Malinda E. Reed	Trustee		
Elizabeth D. Scheibel	Trustee		
Henry M. Thomas, III	Trustee		
Victor Woolridge	Trustee		
Charles F. Wu	Trustee		