UNIVERSITY OF MASSACHUSETTS AMHERST•BOSTON•DARTMOUTH•LOWELL•MEDICAL SCHOOL•UMASSONLINE

MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE

April 14, 2015 Hilton Boston Downtown/Faneuil Hall, Washington Room, 3rd floor, 89 Broad St., Boston, MA

Committee Members present:

Chair Manning; Professors Jimoh, O'Rielly, Sundaram, Braunhut; Trustees Collins, Johnston, Miller, Lowe, Peyser, Fubini, Peters; Dean Fuller; Mr. Karam; Vice Provost Luzuriaga; Senior Vice President Williams

<u>Committee Members Absent:</u> Trustee Campbell, Freudson, Osterhaus-Houle; Dr. Keroack; Mr. Crandall

<u>Staff:</u> General Counsel Heatwole; Executive Vice President Julian

Guests:

Messrs. Kring, Mead-Fox, Sullivan, Korn Ferry

Chair Manning convened the meeting at 8:05 a.m., stating that there would be four candidate interviews held today for the Presidential Search.

The Chair then asked for a motion to enter into executive session as permitted under chapter 30A, section 21(a)(8) to permit the consideration applicants for employment by this preliminary screening committee as he had determined that an open meeting will have detrimental effect on the ability to attract qualified applicants; and under section 21(a)(7), to comply with the Public Records law, Chapter 4, section 7, clause 26(u) to protect proprietary information provided to the University to assist in the preliminary screening of applicants. The meeting will not reconvene in open session.

The motion was moved and seconded.

The Chair asked for the Assistant Secretary to call the roll with each committee member asked to vote yes or no. Chair Manning voted for the motion as did Professors Jimoh, O'Rielly, Sundaram, Braunhut; Trustees Collins, Lowe, Miller, Peyser, Peters; Mr. Karam; and Senior Vice President Williams. Trustees Campbell, Freudson, Fubini, Johnston, Osterhaus-Houle; Dean Fuller; Vice Provost Luzuriaga; Dr. Keroack, and Mr. Crandall were absent for the vote. If they are listed as absent for the meeting, you don't need to indicate they are absent for the vote

Public session ended at 8:05 a.m. There were no members of the public present, and so the Executive Session began immediately.

Amy Chandler-Nelson Administrative Assistant