2015 S&T Fund Awards

Professors Andrew McCallum and David Jensen  - UMass Amherst – Center for Data Science, Industrial Outreach.  This award provides support to Amherst’s recently announced new initiative in big data. While the campus has already made strategic investments in this center, the S&T funds are specifically designed to support the center’s efforts to engage industrial partners and to develop as a leading source of research and talent in this field.  Award: $85,000.

Professors Brian Levine and Emery Berger  - UMass Amherst – Institute for Cyber Security. The Institute builds on a strong collaboration among five colleges at Amherst and envisions partnerships with other UMass campuses and industry to build a critical mass that will enable it to pursue R&D projects in several strategic areas including the Internet of Things, data security, cryptography, and networks. Award: $125,000.

Professor Vincent Rotello – UMass Amherst - and Professor Arthur Mercurio - UMass Medical School – Integrating Physical Sciences and Oncology. This project represents a unique combination of the physical sciences at Amherst (e.g., polymers, chemistry) with molecular biology at Worcester to help develop new diagnostics and therapeutics for cancer. Award:  $134,000.

Professor Robyn Hannigan – UMass Boston with UMass Amherst and UMass Dartmouth – Sustainable Seafood Collaboratory. This collaborative effort addresses issues in the state’s marine economy about maintaining sustainable seafood, especially in light of climate changes issues affecting the state’s fishing grounds. The project will involve research and extension activities to help bring cutting-edge science to aquaculture practices in the marine industry of Massachusetts. Award: $125,000.

Professor Joey Mead – UMass Lowell with UMass Amherst – Multi-Scale 3-D Printing. This project involves a strong collaboration between materials and manufacturing expertise at Lowell and the e-Design group at Amherst and builds off an earlier grant awarded last year. The two campuses will work with industry partners to drive development of high performance engineering thermoplastics and composites in the emerging field of 3-D printing. Award: $125,000.

Dr. Vivian Budnik and Dr. Marc Freeman -UMass Medical School with UMass Amherst – Establishing a Core Facility for Genome Engineering in Model Organisms. This award represents the development of a new core research facility that will enable the characterization and understanding of nearly any human genetic disease through new tools such as high throughput sequencing and gene editing, thus enabling scientists to better understand the pathogenesis of disease. Award:  $125,000.

Dr. Paul Thompson -UMass Medical School with UMass Amherst – Developing a Chemical Screening Initiative.  This initiative focuses on accelerating the identification of small molecule targets for therapeutics by taking advantage of new advances in synthetic and combinatorial chemistry to help UMass researchers move more effectively to drug development. The combined capabilities of genome engineering and chemical screening at UMass Medical will significantly enhance the ability of UMass faculty across the system to pursue translational R&D opportunities, move their research toward the development of therapeutics and collaborate with industry. Award:  $125,000.

Dr. Sivappa Rasapalli and Dr. Steven Lohrenz - UMass Dartmouth and UMass Amherst, UMass Boston, UMass Lowell and UMass Medical – Marine Bioprospecting Initiative. Planning grant for a complex, five-campus effort that is focused on sustainable bio-prospecting of marine resources for applications in pharmaceuticals, biofuels, cosmeceuticals, and biomaterials.  Award: $35,000.

Professors James Sherwood - UMass Lowell and Constance Moore -  UMass Medical – Concussion Prevention and Diagnosis Initiative. This planning grant is for a multi-disciplinary initiative to improve the understanding of concussions to drive improvements in protective equipment, rules and standards in various sports, and protocols and treatment. Award: $35,000.